About Katie

I am a daughter, a sister, granddaughter, niece, cousin and loyal friend. I am a woman, and I come from a family of strong women. We believe in ourselves and fight for what we believe is right.  My family and friends are very important to me and I have an amazing relationship with my mum, dad and sister. 

I studied Nursing and Midwifery at the University of Newcastle before then doing my Masters of Midwifery (Hons) at the University of Technology, Sydney. I believe in promoting natural labour for healthy well women and have undertaken a variety of short course to help with this.

I have been a Registered midwife since 2002 and have worked in a variety of midwifery settings. Midwifery has taken me extensively around NSW and remote Australia. 

I have had the opportunity to work clinically in the two hospitals on the NSW Central Coast and as an educator in both hospitals on the Northern Beaches. Following a couple of project jobs with NSW Health I moved into the position of Coordinator of Maternity Emergency Care (MEC) courses with Australia’s peek professional body for remote health, CRANAplus. With CRANAplus I was fortunate enough to travel to many remote communities around Australia and had the opportunity to work in a couple of the remote Indigenous communities in the Northern Territory. I then moved to the Western Sydney University in the School of Nursing and Midwifery. I lectured in the Bachelor of Midwifery program and hope that I helped grow our next generation of midwives. I want student midwives to see that there are options available for midwives to work across the full spectrum of midwifery in a wide variety of settings. Since lecturing at the Western Sydney University I realised how much I missed my clinical practice and have since returned to Gosford Hospital, where my midwifery journey began. I hope the future will have me working back in private practice where I feel I can truly work with women to meet their pregnancy, birth and postnatal needs.


I currently live close to the beach on the NSW Central Coast and have previously lived in rural NSW, Tasmania, the Northern Territory and England. I love to travel.